• School of Materials Science and Engineering

    Chinese Version

    Location: Home > Events & Notice

    Lecture by Professor Younan Xia: 

    Colloidal Metal Nanocrystals: From Academic Studies to Industrial Applications

    Date: May 26th, 2017 @ 14:15

    Location: USTB Library, East Building – Room 403


    Although the first documented synthesis of colloidal metal nanocrystals can be traced back to the work by Michael Faraday in 1856, only within the last decade have methods become available for generating samples. For nanocrystals made of noble metals, the shape determines not only their chemical, plasmonic, and catalytic properties but also their relevance for electronic, photonic and catalytic applications. For more than 15 years, we have been working diligently to achieve a quantitative understanding and control of the nucleation and growth mechanisms responsible for the formation of nanocrystals with specific shapes and structures. In this talk, I will discuss some of the recent developments in this field, with a focus on shape-controlled synthesis of noble-metal nanocrystals via seed-mediated growth in the presence/absence of a capping agent and under a thermodynamic or kinetic control. The success of these syntheses has enabled us to tailor the properties of metal nanocrystals for a broad range of applications in photonics, sensing, imaging, biomedicine, catalysis, and fuel cell technology.


    Younan Xia is the Brock Family Chair and Georgia Research Alliance Eminent Scholar in Nanomedicine at the Georgia Institute of Technology. He received a B.S. degree in Chemical Physics from the University of Science and Technology of China in 1987, a M.S. degree in Inorganic Chemistry from the University of Pennsylvania in 1993, and a Ph.D. degree in Physical Chemistry from Harvard University in 1996. Xia has co-authored more than 680 publications in peer-reviewed journals, together with a total citation of more than 120,000 and an h-index of 169. He has been named a Top 10 Chemist and Materials Scientist based on the number of citations per publication. He has received a number of prestigious awards, including American Chemical Society National Award in the Chemistry of Materials (2013), NIH Director’s Pioneer Award (2006), David and Lucile Packard Fellow in Science and Engineering (2000), and many other significant awards.